Blackhawk Presbytery
Monday, May 29, 2017
Supporting Thriving Faith Communities in Northern Illinois
Search this site.View the site map.
Visit us on Facebook.

Blackhawk Presbytery
1922 N. IL Rte. 2
P.O. Box 199
Oregon, IL 61061



2016 May Special Called Presbytery Meeting

The Reverends Bill Ward, Julie Raffety, and Kim Hulen have requested a called meeting of the Presbytery to be held May 1, 2016 at Au Sable Grove Presbyterian Church, 5021 Wheeler Rd, Yorkville, IL 60560 (map) at 3:00 pm (immediately prior to the installation service of Rev. Jennifer Olson at the church) for the purpose of establishing an Administrative Commission to respond to the action of the Bethany Presbyterian Church, Loves Park, to leave the PC (USA). 
John Rickard
General Presbyter/Stated Clerk, Blackhawk Presbytery

Called meeting of the Presbytery of Blackhawk

3:00 pm, May 1, 2016

Au Sable Grove Presbyterian Church, Yorkville, Illinois


The meeting was called to order at 3:00 pm by Vice-Moderator, Dottie Morizzo and opened with prayer.

The Stated Clerk declared that a quorum was present based on the registration sheet.

The purpose of the meeting was read: To appoint an Administrative Commission to respond to Bethany Presbyterian Church, Loves Park action to leave the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.)


On behalf of the Moderator and Stated Clerk the following names were presented to the Presbytery for their appointment.

            Reverend Kathie Luke, pastor, United Presbyterian Church, Freeport

            Reverend Anita Stuart Steva, pastor, Middle Creek Presbyterian Church, Winnebago

            Reverend Bob Kopp, pastor, First Presbyterian Church, Belvidere

            Reverend Jim Tilley, associate pastor, First Presbyterian Church, Rochelle


            Ruling Elder Ed Conklin, 2nd/1st Church, Rockford

            Ruling Elder Martha Logeson, Westminster, Rockford
            Ruling Elder Sue Flott, First Presbyterian, Belvidere.

There was discussion. No other names were put in nomination.

There was a motion/2nd and approval to appoint the Administrative Commission as presented.


Motion to adjourn/2nd and approved.


The meeting was closed with prayer by Vice-Moderator, Dottie Morizzo.

The Reverend Dr. John Rickard

General Presbyter/Stated Clerk


Teaching Elders: Jan Chandler (Gardner, Church of Hope), Conley Zomermaand (Oswego), Jennifer Olson (Yorkville, AuSable Grove), Hope Sibson (Member at Large), Betty Weidert (Honorably Retired)


Ruling Elders: Dottie Morizzo (Elizabeth, Schapville Zion), Ken Mozingo (Oswego), Jay Roth (Morris, First), Laurie Walker (Yorkville, AuSable Grove), Judy Sleezer (Yorkville, AuSable Grove)